No, reaching over the net with your racket is not allowed in tennis. You need the ball to have reached your side of the court first. The only exception to this is if the ball lands on your side and either due to the spin on the ball or the wind, the ball bounces back over the net and onto the other side of the court.
Ordinarily, you are not allowed to reach over the net to hit the ball in tennis. Your racquet may cross over the net as long as you make contact with the ball on your side of the net, though. You or your racquet cannot touch the net at all or you lose the point. There are rare cases when you are allowed to reach over the net without losing the point, however.
Your racquet can cross the net as long as it never touches it. This does not mean you can just start reaching across the net to hit balls before they come to your side. Before you can hit a return, the ball must first cross over the net to your side of the court. (ITF Rule 24)
Once players reach a score of deuce, advantage scoring replaces the point values. Therefore, if the server wins the point at deuce, then the score is ‘advantage in’ or ‘ad in’ for short. Conversely, if the receiver wins the point at deuce, then the score is ‘advantage out’ or ‘ad out’ for short.
On the first point of a game, the first serve must go over the net and into the receiver’s right (deuce) service court. ADVERTISEMENT. If your first serve doesn’t go into the correct box, it’s called a “fault.”. If you miss your second serve, however, it’s called a “double fault” and your opponent wins that point.
If the spin or wind brings the ball back over the net to the side of the player (s) who hit the shot, the opponent (s) may then reach over the net and play the ball. They may not touch the net or the opponent’s court. This is the only situation when a player may reach over the net to play a ball.
The player reaches over the net and plays the ball into the correct court without touching the net. The ball is returned outside the net posts (either above, or below net level) and lands in the correct court. This rule applies even if the ball touches the net post, but lands in the correct court. The ball is returned under the net cord between the singles stick and adjacent net post and hits the ground inside the correct court.
In this case, to win the point, a player must reach over the net and hit the ball before it lands. However, if while doing so the player touches the net or if the ball lands (on the opponent’s ...